While I’m waiting…

Since J has been mostly communicating the happenings of our adoption story, I wanted to share my perspective a little bit.  This process has been a long time coming for us, and now there’s a little light at the end of the tunnel.  Everything seems to be just outside of our reach as we wait to bring home our little Eli.

This entire week, I’ve been singing in my head or listening to While I’m Waiting by Jon Waller.  Yes, it appears in that cheesy Christian movie, Fireproof, but it’s a great song that really resonates with my current situation.  I highly recommend making it the soundtrack for any times where you’re struggling with patience or waiting for God’s plans to unfold in your life.  To be completely open-and-honest, I sang it aggressively yesterday as my patience has really been tested with this process…it probably was an ineffective way to deal with my situation, but alas.

This week was extremely bittersweet for me.  It was my last week as a teacher at the Early Learning Center at Granger Community Church.  The ELC is an amazing place where little ones can learn and grow, both in faith and academics.  Prior to teaching at the ELC, I taught for six years as a special education teacher at Oak Manor Sixth Grade Center in the Niles Community Schools District.  I love teaching.  There’s something about watching a child learn something that makes my heart beat fast.  Specifically at the ELC, I gained a new perspective for teaching children about Jesus.  This huge responsibility made an impact on my own walk with Christ, and for that I’m truly grateful.  Listening to children pray and retell bible stories has been humbling and transforming.  While I’m sad about leaving my teaching responsibilities and terrific co-workers, I am beyond excited to be a stay-at-home mom.  It feels like I’ve waited for this for a very long time, and I’m totally ready to embrace mommy-hood.

As I finish up this reflection, I have to smile at how perfect God’s timing really is.  We literally just finished our home study.  Our social worker, Fran, is completing her side of the paperwork tonight and will have it ready for us to pick up at her home tomorrow…just in time for our trip to Baton Rouge on Monday.  (Someone please cue Garth Brooks’ Callin’ Baton Rouge!)

This all seems so surreal and super-fast.  I cannot effectively communicate the peace both J and I feel.  That’s how we know that this is God’s doing.  Everything is simply falling into place.  Please continue to pray for us.  Pray for Eli’s continued health gains.  Pray for the doctors, lawyers and staff, and social workers.  We also ask you to pray for Eli’s birth mother, Daune.  We pray for her to be at peace, to know God’s love, and to walk each step of her recovery path.  Even though it is unlikely that I will ever meet her or hold her hand to thank her for this unbelievable gift in my life, I hope she knows that she will always carry a special place in my heart.

Our hearts are full, friends.  God is always good.

About aquilavilla

We've been married for several years now and have found that our adventures are just beginning. This blog is a way we both can share our thoughts, collectively, along the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to While I’m waiting…

  1. skoutz says:

    Praying for safe travels and smooth transitions!

Leave a Reply

