What My Prayers Sound Like …

image“He’s My Son” : by Mark Schultz

I’m down on my knees again tonight
I’m hoping this prayer will turn out right
See there is a boy that needs Your help
I’ve done all that I can do myself
His mother is tired
I’m sure You can understand
Each night as he sleeps
She goes in to hold his hand
And she tries not to cry
As the tears fill her eyes

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place somehow
See, he’s not just anyone
He’s my son

Sometimes late at night I watch him sleep
I dream of the boy he’d like to be
I try to be strong and see him through
But God who he needs right now is You
Let him grow old
Live life without this fear
What would I be
Living without him here
He’s so tired and he’s scared
Let him know that You’re there

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place somehow
See, he’s not just anyone
He’s my son

Can you hear me? Can You see him?
Please don’t leave him
He’s my son

About aquilavilla

We've been married for several years now and have found that our adventures are just beginning. This blog is a way we both can share our thoughts, collectively, along the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What My Prayers Sound Like …

  1. Lanette Rajski says:

    I can sooooo relate J and Angie… this song started in my heart 19 years ago when we adopted our son Cody (best day of our life!!) and continues desperately to this day while he works his way through addiction recovery. Our faith in our Father is the only way to get through parenthood – it’s the most beautiful thing in the world, but also the most heart wrenching. I can promise you that through these difficult days of waiting that God is bringing beauty in so many ways. Keep walking in the light and trusting!! Your boy is BEAUTIFUL and I am praying for you all …. interceding regularly on your behalf. I pray that you get to bring Eli home very, very soon!!

  2. Wendy Pavich says:

    Angie and J… this song plays very heavy on my heart. Just know that God does hear you, he sees you and he is with your son every moment of the day!!!! I pray with all my heart for all of you and soon you all be home together!! Keep your Faith and stay Strong!! Love you both!!! Wen

Leave a Reply

