Election 2016

I was hoping to use the hide feature less on Facebook now that the election has passed; however, I’m still using it regularly. I wish I could hide this ugliness from my boys – shelter them from hateful rhetoric that is literally everywhere, but obviously I can’t. This election displayed the worst of our American culture and humanity, on both sides and from every angle. I wasn’t a fan of any candidates this election had to offer. At all. It got me thinking that, perhaps if we want better candidates, we should start being better humans ourselves.

This election showed me so many things I want to teach Isaac and Eli. I want to teach my kids how to be humble winners and gracious losers. I want them to know that we don’t need to attend every argument we’re offered, nor does the world need our opinion on every single topic presented, especially when it’s not helpful. Sometimes we need to learn that shutting our mouths and walking away is our best option. I want them to learn to use their brains, not just sheepishly follow what the media or their friends tell them.  I want them to respect and love people first, understanding that we don’t always have to agree to be kind.  I pray they learn that we are all valuable and worthwhile, and that our differences make us unique and special.

Lastly, I’m praying for our nation, its leaders and citizens. Lord knows, we all need it.

-A

About aquilavilla

We've been married for several years now and have found that our adventures are just beginning. This blog is a way we both can share our thoughts, collectively, along the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

